B419- New Moon Rising

Written by: Marti Noxon.
Cast: Sarah Michelle Gellar, Nicholas Brendon, Alyson Hannigan, Anthony Stewart Head, James Marsters, Marc Blucas, Emma Caulfield, Leonard Roberts, Amber Benson, Bailey Chase, George Hertzberg & Seth Green.

Willow and Tara walk around the school grounds holding hands and talk about Tara getting a cat as a pet. At the Scooby Gang meeting, Buffy explains that there is little going on, but as usual, Giles knows that means trouble. As the meeting ends, Oz shows up in the doorway, shocking everyone into silence. Oz arranges to talk with Willow later, and after Oz leaves, Tara also leaves the incredibly uncomfortable situation. Buffy and Riley talk about how bad Willow and Oz’s break-up really was, and Buffy accidentally mentions that Oz is a werewolf. Buffy goes off on him when he negatively comments on Willow dating a werewolf (he says that Willow seems smarter than to date a dangerous guy, unknowingly drawing a parallel between Willow and Oz and Buffy and Angel).

Oz takes Willow for a walk outside during a full moon, showing her that he’s not in werewolf mode. While in Tibet, with the help of herbs, charms, chanting, and meditation, he’s learned to control the wolf inside. Oz wants to get back together with Willow, but she is reluctant. Graham patrols with a team and they are all attacked by a four-legged demon, closely resembling a werewolf. Willow and Oz talk all night about their lives while they were apart. Tara comes by in the morning while Willow is away, and upon having Oz answer the door she gets nervous and leaves.

Buffy wakes up at Riley’s, but she’s very distant from him. They talk about the night before in the graveyard and Riley’s reaction to Oz, then Riley leaves after hearing news about Graham getting hurt. Willow shocks Buffy with the news about Oz being able to control the wolf. Buffy is even more shocked as Willow subtly explains that her relationship with Tara is now serious and that complicates things with Oz. Adam goes to Spike for his help in exchange for getting the chip out of Spike’s head.

Willow tells Tara that she and Oz only talked the night before, and then they hug. Oz and Tara have a confrontation and after smelling Willow on Tara, Oz concludes that the two are romantically involved. He loses control, and starts to change into a werewolf. Werewolf Oz chases Tara into a classroom, and then Riley and the Initiative guys take Oz away. The gang meets up and makes a plan to free Oz. Oz is kept caged at the Initiative and just as Riley is about to shoot him dead, he changes back into his human form.

Despite Riley’s attempts to help, the scientists start performing tests on Oz. Spike shows up at Giles’ place and offers to lead Buffy and the gang into the Initiative. Riley sneaks in, gives Oz some clothes and tries to help him escape. On the way out, they get caught. Colonel McNamara lectures Riley about betraying the Initiative on so many levels and how he will be court-martialed. Dressed as commandos and scientists, Spike and the gang sneak into the Initiative through a back door. Adam secretly helps them by running operations through a computer and helping them shut down the power for most of the city.

Holding the Colonel hostage, Buffy gets Riley and Oz free, Riley leaving the Initiative for good. Now that his life is in danger, Riley camps out underground with Buffy at his side. He confesses that he was wrong about Oz, and then Buffy volunteers to tell him about her past, and hopes that it won’t destroy their relationship. In Oz’s van, Willow and Oz say their sad goodbyes and then Oz leaves town again to escape the Initiative and Willow, who unintentionally is the cause of him turning into a werewolf. Willow goes to Tara’s, bringing her a candle. Tara tells Willow that she should be with the person she loves, and Willow replies that she is. Tara blows out the candle.

From: Wikipedia

BUFFY- (+5)

  • +1/ Defending Oz when Riley assumes that because he is a werewolf that he is dangerous. It’s obvious that she is correlating Oz to Angel.
  • +2/ Finding out that Willow is involved with Tara, at first Buffy is a little freaked by the revelation but she tries to be supportive as any best friend would do (see Willow point 4).
  • +1/ Rescuing Oz from the Initiative, that’s gotta be the 3rd time she’s had to infiltrate the Initiative, she must be quite good at it now.
  • +1/ Discussing Oz for a bit before finally getting the courage to tell Riley about Angel. It’s nice that they connect the fact that Buffy can now forgive Riley for assuming Oz was dangerous after Buffy had her wig when she found out about Willow.

WILLOW- (+13)

  • +1/ Overhelping Tara during a Scooby meeting, she’s adorable.
  • +1/ Finding out that Oz has controlled his wolf-side, for a moment, she’s the old Willow again and is excited before realizing her dilemma again (see Oz point 1).
  • +1/ Talking all night with Oz, it’s nice to see them together again-
    Willow: So Tibet was your favorite?
    Oz: Well, it’s where I stayed the longest. This warlock in Romania sent me to the monks there to learn some meditation techniques. Very intense. All about keeping your inner cool.
    Willow: Good, ’cause you were such a spaz before. (Smiles.) So that’s it? You keep your cool, and no more wolfie?
    Oz: No, there’s more. I take some herbs and stuff. Some chanting. A couple of charms.
    Willow: It’s incredible. You’ve been all around the world. You’ve had this… complete mind/body transformation. I’ve just been here. (Chuckle) Same old Sunnydale.
    Oz: Doesn’t mean you haven’t gone through a lot.
    Willow: It’s true. Some of it, you know, was me telling myself I hated you and cursing your name. Not literally.
    Oz: Well, thanks for that.
  • +2/ Telling Buffy about Tara, who has a little trouble with this change at first. You gotta feel for Willow. Two people she loves vying for her and it’s left for her to choose-
    Buffy: Hey.
    Willow: Hey. You okay?
    Buffy: (rubbing her neck) Yeah, I just – I don’t wanna talk about it. I wanna hear about you and Oz. You saw him, right?
    Willow: I was with him all night.
    Buffy raises her eyebrows.
    Buffy: All night? (Grins) Oh my god. (Sits on Willow’s bed.) Wait. Last night was a wolf moon, right?
    Willow: Yup.
    Buffy: Either you’re about to tell me something incredibly kinky, or-
    Willow: No kink. (Smiling) He didn’t change, Buffy. He said he was gonna find a cure, and he did. In Tibet.
    Buffy: (smiling) Oh my god. I can’t believe it. (Pause) Okay, I’m all with the woo-hoo here, and you’re not.
    Willow: No, there’s “woo” and, and “hoo.” But there’s “uh-oh,” and… “why now?” And… it’s complicated.
    Buffy: Why complicated?
    Willow: (sighs, steels herself) It’s complicated… because of Tara.
    Buffy: (frowns) You mean Tara has a crush on Oz? No.
    The clue-by-four hits Buffy.
    Buffy: Oh!
    Willow gives a nervous smile. Buffy stands up.
    Buffy: Oh. Um… well… that’s great. You know, I mean, I think Tara’s a, a really great girl, Will.
    Willow: She is. And… there’s something between us. It-it wasn’t something I was looking for. It’s just powerful. And it’s totally different from what Oz and I have.
    Buffy: Well, there you go, I mean, you know, you have to – you have to follow your heart, Will. And that’s what’s important, Will.
    Willow: Why do you keep saying my name like that?
    Buffy: (with false cheer) Like what, Will?
    Willow: (sits up) Are you freaked?
    Buffy: What? No, Will, d- (stops herself, sighs) No. (Sits on bed) No, absolutely no to that question. (Willow looks skeptical.) I’m glad you told me. What did you say to Oz?
    Willow: I was gonna tell him … but then we started hanging out, and … I could just feel everything coming back. (Buffy looks sympathetic.) He’s Oz, you know?
    Buffy: Yeah. I know.
    Willow: I don’t wanna hurt anyone, Buffy.
    Buffy: No matter what, somebody’s gonna get hurt.  And the important thing is, you just have to be honest, or it’s gonna be a lot worse.
  • +2/ Talking to Tara about her problem and reassuring her that they’ll be friends no matter what, a very powerful scene-
    Willow: I just want you to know that what you saw this morning, it wasn’t-
    Tara: No, it’s okay. I-I always knew that if he came back-
    Willow: We were just talking. Nothing happened.
    Tara: (hopeful smile) Oh. (Pause) Really?
    Willow nods.
    Willow: But, you know, it was intense. Just talking. We have a lot to talk about. (Frowns) I kinda feel like my head’s gonna explode.
    Tara: (struggles for a moment) Whatever, you know, happens … I’ll still
    be here. I’ll still be your friend.
    Willow: Of course we’ll be friends! That’s not even a question.
    Tara: (upset) But I’m saying, I know what Oz means to you.
    Willow: How can you, when I’m not even sure? I mean, I know what he meant to me. But he left, and… everything changed. I changed, and… then we–
    Tara: What?
    Willow: (teary) I don’t know. I just – life was starting to get so good again, and — (sighs, moves closer to Tara) You’re a big part of that. (Crying) And here comes the thing I wanted most of all, and… I don’t know what to do, I … I wanna know, but I don’t.
    Tara looks sympathetic. She brushes the tears off Willow’s cheek.
    Tara: Do what makes you … h-h-happy.
  • +1/ Calling Spike an evil olive when he wears the army camouflage.
  • +4/ Her goodbyes with Oz, a very emotional scene. The last scene of my favourite Buffyverse couple. Even though I would’ve liked Oz to stay, they ended it well, you can feel how much they do love eachother even as they say their farewells-
    Oz: I shouldn’t have come back now…. I just thought I’d changed.
    Willow: You have changed. (Smiles) You stopped the wolf from coming out. I saw it.
    Oz: But I couldn’t look at you. (He still can’t.) I mean, it turns out… the one thing that brings it out in me is you… which falls under the heading of ironic in my book.
    Willow: It was my fault. I upset you.
    He finally looks at her.
    Oz: Well, so we’re safe then, (sarcastic) cause you’ll never do that again.
    Willow tries to look amused.
    Oz: But… you’re happy?
    Willow: (smiles) I am. I can’t explain it-
    Oz: It may be safer for both os us if you don’t.
    Willow looks sad.
    Willow: I missed you, Oz. I wrote you so many letters… but I didn’t have any place to send them, you know? (Pause.) I couldn’t live like that.
    Oz: It was stupid to think that you’d just be… waiting.
    Willow: I was waiting. I feel like some part of me will always be waiting for you. Like if I’m old and blue-haired, and I turn the corner in Istanbul and there you are, I won’t be surprised. Because… you’re with me, you know?
    Oz: I know. (Pause) But now is not that time, I guess.
    Willow: (shakes her head) No.
    They look at each other.
    Willow: What are you gonna do?
    Oz: I think I better take off.
    Willow: When?
    Oz: Pretty much now.
    Willow nods. She’s teary again. Oz leans over and they hug.
  • +1/ Seeing Tara and telling her of her choice, a nice way to end the episode.

GILES- (+1)

  • +1/ His reaction to Anya’s offer of a high-five, they are great together (see Anya point 1).

OZ- (+11)

  • +3/ Learning to control himself for Willow and wanting to get back together. It’s a sad scene because you feel happy for Oz and his accomplishment but also feel for him because he doesn’t know who Willow is involved with-
    Willow: Oz… (He stops walking)  This is all so weird. I-I-I feel like… this isn’t really happening. Like it’s a dream or, or something.
    Oz: It’s real. Look up.
    Willow: What?
    Oz: (smiling) Look at the sky.
    Willow looks up. The moon is full.
    Oz: I guess you stopped keeping track of ’em after I left.
    Willow: Full moon. (Looks at Oz, back up at moon)
    Oz: Full moon.
    Willow: Full moon, but-but how? I mean (smiling) you did it! How, how did you do it? Where did you go?
    Oz: It’s a long story.
    Willow: (looks up again, then down, smiling) Oh my god, Oz!
    She hugs him. He holds her and closes his eyes. Willow pulls back. Not smiling any more.
    Willow: This is… I mean, it’s wonderful for you.
    Oz: I talked to Xander, and he said you didn’t have a new guy.
    Willow: No. No new… guy.
    Oz smiles and takes her hand.
    Oz: I know what I put you through, and I’m not gonna push. But I am… a different person than when I left. And I can be what you need now.
    Willow looks sad.
    Oz: That’s what I want. That’s why I’m here.
  • +1/ Talking with Will all night (see Willow point 3).
  • +1/ Meeting Tara, not knowing who she is, he invites her in but she scurries away.
  • +1/ Finding out about Tara and Willow by smelling Willow on Tara. A fairly bad way to find out which turns him into a werewolf again…in the middle of the day.
  • +1/ Having to control himself more than ever around Willow, obviously still upset by the revelation of her involvment with Tara.
  • +4/ Saying his goodbyes to his beloved Willow before leaving Sunnydale for good, a very, very sad moment (see Willow point 7).

SPIKE- (+2)

  • +1/ Meeting Adam for the first time. Spike tries his normal ‘your a demon and I kill demon’s routine’ only to find him a little bit too big. Doesn’t stop him trying though which you have to admire him for.
  • +1/ Having to wear Initiative camouflage so they can rescue Oz, he looks incredibly strange which is what happens when your used to seeing him in black leather coats all the time.

ANYA- (+1)

  • +1/ Anya celebrating with Giles-
    Anya: Slap my hand now! (Chuckles and holds up hand)
    Giles: Beg your pardon?
    Anya: In celebration.
    Giles: Oh… (slaps her hand) Yes.
    Anya: Ow!

RILEY- (+3)

  • -1/ Being very black & white about demons, that’s not very smart of you Riley.
  • +1/ Trying to break Oz out, he’s redeemed himself.
  • +1/ Ditching the Initiative and becoming a rebel, a good choice I’d say.
  • +1/ Helping to rescue Oz.
  • +1/ Apologizing to Buffy for being so black & white.

TARA- (+2)

  • +2/ Telling Willow that she’ll always be her friend no matter who she chooses, not only is that nice but shows that Tara really does love her (see Willow point 5).

ADAM- (+1)

  • +1/ Having parts of a boy scout, funny and strange.

SEASON COUNT-

BUFFY- +124
WILLOW- +97
XANDER- +76
SPIKE- +58
GILES- +52
RILEY- +45
ANYA- +38
OZ- +37
FAITH- +14
HARMONY- +11
TARA- 11
JONATHAN- +8
FORREST- +4
ANGEL- +4
THE MAYOR- +3
JOYCE- +3
GRAHAM- +2
ETHAN RAYNE- +2
WILLY- +1
ADAM- +1
PARKER- –2
PROFESSOR WALSH- -4

OVERALL COUNT-

BUFFY- +431
WILLOW- +343
ANGEL- +297
XANDER- +278
GILES- +204
OZ- +129
SPIKE- +128
ANYA- +46
RILEY- +45
JOYCE- +44
FAITH- +43
THE MAYOR- +36
JONATHAN- +12
TARA- +11
HARMONY- +8
FORREST- +4
WILLY- +3
GRAHAM- +2
ETHAN RAYNE- +1
ADAM- +1
PARKER- -2
PROFESSOR WALSH- -4

EPISODE THOUGHTS-

The ending of an important era in the Buffyverse. Oz departure breaks the last remnant of of the old Buffy away. The old days of high school are now well and trully behind, new characters are now tied into the scene: Spike, Anya, Tara & Riley have tied themselves to our core group and lead us into the next phase of Buffy and this episode is a good one to close the old phase off on. Oz’s departure is quite sad for me because he is such a good character and one of my favourites. I’m happy that he did get a proper chance to leave considering what happened in Wild At Heart, which was earlier in the season. While this is about Oz, the focus does end up on Willow and her dilemma of choosing between Oz and Tara. That choice is what drives the episode and eventually leaves to Oz departing us. I remember when I watched this for the first time I was so upset that oz was leaving that I developed a irrational hatred for Tara which wouldn’t subside for at least a season. Thankfully, having seen the series multiple times, I’ve developed an affection for Tara and now see the choice more objectively. That in itself show’s how powerful this show is and just how much people care for the characters, well at least me anyways. I still would’ve preferred Oz but Tara is a fine replacement. Many of the best scenes from this episode are based around Willow choice, whether it be interactions with Oz, Tara or Buffy. Willow is brilliant throughout and Oz finally gets some focus, Buffy leads the others with a decent score but many of the others don’t have much because of the focus on the A plot. The plot on the whole is strong and pacing is decent but this episode is about character and that’s where it shines.

87/100

Leave a comment